Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love Sunday, I love the great feeling of still having a list of things to do but seemingly a long time to complete it before it’s time for bedtime again.

I will often be found in my kitchen at some point on Sundays.  To me there could be nothing more relaxing than to bake and cook goodies for the upcoming week. I am going to share with you a few of the things I made today.

I took pics to show you what mine ended up looking like once I was done. These recipes are not greatly ingenious but are a complete hit with my family and will be enjoyed each and every day this week. 🙂

The first thing I put together was these great little breakfast gems.   It will only take a few ingredients to pull together but the different outcomes are endless simply by switching up your selection of produce and cheese.   The base is always going to be eggs (you can use whites only if you wish or the old fashion complete egg).   These are made in ramekins which offer a superbly quick and easy way to warm them up when your tummy calls out to you.

Eggs in a pod

Eggs in a pod

This week I decided to do following variation;

Warm the oven to 350 degrees.

6 eggs

1 tsp oil

3/4 cup chopped onion

3/4 cup frozen corn (you can use any vegetable that will keep its shape when cooked)

1/2 cup sundried tomatoes

3/4 cup cheddar cheese (you can use your favorite hard cheese)

Salt & Pepper

Break an egg into the ramekin.

In a frying pan, warm up the oil.

Add onions and sweat until slightly browned.

Add the corn and the sundried tomatoes and continue stirring until the corn is cooked.

Using a spoon – separate the onion/corn/tomato mixture into each of the ramekins.

Ensure the cheese is cut into cubes no bigger than 1/3 inch in size.

Add equally into ramekins.

Add salt & pepper to taste.

Put the ramekins on a cookie sheet and cook for 20 – 30 minutes (until the egg is cooked)

Cool before putting covering them and putting the in the fridge until you’re ready to warm it up.

To warm up – use microwave (1-2 minutes) or in the oven for 10-15 minutes at 350 degrees.

Here are some other pics…  These steps will need to be repeated for however many ramekins you are making.

Enjoy…

April 14 2013 010 April 14 2013 011